You’ve probably heard about the chakras in a  yoga or meditation practice. If you’re unfamiliar with the term you’re likely spinning your wheels (pun intended)  trying to find this so-called chakra. It may sound like a bunch of woo woo hipster mumbo jumbo nonsense, but healing your chakras can help you achieve optimal health in all areas of your life.

Here is your Chakra 101 lesson!

The name Chakra is from Sankrit meaning “wheel” or “disk”. Like organs, your chakras serve a specific purpose and function. They not only manage our physical self but also our psychological and spiritual well-being. Each chakra functions on a different vibrating band frequency that can be associated with a color. Also known as our “aura” these electromagnetic fields are like rainbows surrounding our bodies. Imbalances in one or several of our chakras can manifest itself physically and or emotionally.

These are the 7 main chakras keeping you healthy and happy

  1. The Root Chakra

Is the foundation. It keeps everything safe and provides a sense of security, trust, survival, and connection. It is associated with the base of the spine, pelvic floor and first three vertebrae’s. A blocked root chakra can lead to back problems and anxiety disorders.

  1. Sacral Chakra

This chakra is located above the pubic bone, below the navel. It is responsible for sexual and creative energies and relates to our energy levels and connection with others. When this chakra is blocked you may experience emotional instability and therefore addictive-like behaviors.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra

Located from the navel to the rib cage, this chakra is the source of individual power and inner strength. Blockage in this chakra can lead to digestive issues and feelings of low self-esteem.

  1. Heart Chakra

As the name indicates, this chakra encapsulates the heart, thymus, lungs, and breasts. It is where love and compassion live. It gives us a sense of adventure and it determines our ability to forgive. It is the place for emotional awareness and any imbalance can lead to anger, jealousy and fear.

  1. Throat Chakra

This is the center that enables us to speak our inner truth. Here, you can find your sense of leadership and control your communication and expression. This chakra is associated with the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx. A blocked throat chakra can lead to thyroid issues.

  1. Third Eye Chakra

The third eye includes the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain. It is located between the eyebrows and is the place where we gather and process thoughts and dreams. It is the center that governs intuition and any blockage can lead to a variety of issues including a judgmental attitude, depression and headaches.

  1. Crown Chakra

Like the King’s crown, this chakra is located at the crown of the head. It is the 7th chakra and is responsible for enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves. Unlike the others, this chakra is believed to be fully open with meditative or yogic exercises. Imbalances in the crown chakra can lead to feelings of isolation and emotional distress.

Imbalances in one or several chakras can manifest itself physically and psychologically lending itself to an array of dysfunctions ranging from colon issues to depression and feelings of fear.  Analyze each chakra to help determine where you need to focus your healing.

Not sure where to begin? Take this quiz to help you get started!